Which Handles?  

37 members have voted

1. 1. Which do you prefer?

• 9 inch
    • 13 inch
    • other

Question

23 answers to this question

I prefer the 15"-17" custom extended handles, as i dont grip them like handlebars on a bicycle i pretty much hang them on my forfingers and tap with my pinky's to turn.

the slightly longer handles for me makes inverted flying easier and less movement to control therfore less oversteer and very quick clock turns.

now those Italians they fly with ski poles :kid_smartass:

I prefer my extended 15" handles. Most of the Italians also use 15" or 16", an idea adapted from me.

I have been using them since about 1995.

I find I can do much more with longer handles, in particular in the tricks area.

Once you are in depth used to 15" handles, using shorter handles can be a slight problem.

I'm a 13" handle kind of guy...

They're long enough to get strong movements out of the kite and provide the sensitivity I need, but they don't over control the kite like I find with longer "ski pole" handles.

I use the same handles for all my Revs... II, 1.5 and 1.

13" All the way. They are just the right length where I have penty of control, and it's easier to do axels and ground pancakes and such. Plus it doesn't overcontrol the kite as much as some longer handles would. And another bonus, it's easier to fly in lighter winds.

Depends on the kite and the type of flying. I've been using my custom 16" handles (stock handles extended with scrap Easton AC 330) since '94, mostly for bridleless RevII flying, though I also used them for my 1 back when I used to fly it regularly.

When I built my first 1.5 back in '95, I found I wasn't crazy about my custom handles with it, but my extended wooden handles built by Mike Van Meers were perfect -- they happen to be 13s. I still really like 13s with a 1.5, though I'm as likely to be using a set that came with a B-series as I am to use my wooden set.