Jump to content
johnnmitchell

Precision Compulsories

Recommended Posts

The competition compulsories used for Multi-line(Quad-line) Individuals, Pairs and Teams are documented in the ISK Compulsories Book.

ISK Compulsories Book version 2.1 dated 1 August 2006 at:

http://worldsportkite.com/irb/ISK%20Compul...nal_Release.pdf

There are animated versions created by Roy Reed at:

http://www.reeddesign.co.uk/iskcb/index.html

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Something Mark Lummas told me, fly the figure, finish / Land, call out like the judge is deaf and a mile away. Then dont move the kite for at least 5 seconds!! That give the judge time to see the kite "land" stay still, they turn round and the last thing they remember is how well you finished the figure - as a judge trust me its subtle but it works - as a flyer trust me it works :kid_smartass:

The competition compulsories used for Multi-line(Quad-line) Individuals, Pairs and Teams are documented in the ISK Compulsories Book.

ISK Compulsories Book version 2.1 dated 1 August 2006 at:

http://worldsportkite.com/irb/ISK%20Compul...nal_Release.pdf

There are animated versions created by Roy Reed at:

http://www.reeddesign.co.uk/iskcb/index.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed Simon, I always call in, mentally count 1, 2, LAUNCH... After my out call, I traditionally wait about 3 seconds before launching to unwrap, etc.

Remember, there's a mood implied by how you enter and exit the comp field, as well as your in/out calling methodology.

Sure, judging "should" be all facts from the routine, but setting the stage effects their mood, and helps you convey the style they're going to be judging.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sure, judging "should" be all facts from the routine, but setting the stage effects their mood, and helps you convey the style they're going to be judging.

John, you definitely have style !

I thoroughly enjoy watching you fly! :)

T

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got a few questions regarding compulsories -

How does the call in/out proceedure apply to precision moves that start near the top of the window, like the Two Down?

I see certain moves can be performed "flyer's choice" (Lollypop), in any direction. Is this possible for all the compulsories, or only for the ones where it is specifically mentioned?

Just curious.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got a few questions regarding compulsories -

How does the call in/out proceedure apply to precision moves that start near the top of the window, like the Two Down?

I see certain moves can be performed "flyer's choice" (Lollypop), in any direction. Is this possible for all the compulsories, or only for the ones where it is specifically mentioned?

Just curious.....

It is best to refer directly to the ISK Compulsories Book". http://www.worldsportkite.com/irb/ISK%20Compulsories%20Book%20v2.2.1.pdf . Any changes can be found at: http://www.worldsportkite.com/irb/ISK%20Compulsories%20Book%20v2.2.1.pdf . Click on rules. There are other sites that also have the rule books.

Anything I say here may or may not be correct as I am only responding with what I recall. It has been over 6 years since I rewrote the book. In 2007 I retired from competition kiting.

Refer to the drawing. Where it is written IN is when you call IN. That is before the first element is flown.

Refer to the drawing. Where it is written OUT is when you call OUT. That is after the last element is flown.

I believe all figures can be flown mirror, however you must inform the field director, before you attempt to fly the figure, who will inform the judges. If you don't then you will get a zero.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...