Got Rev Fever!

Elix

Question

Greetings Darksiders

I believe this is my first post, so let me start off introducing myself. My name is Chris, I'm a 30-something that loves working on computers and riding sport-bikes. Spent 3 years overseas in the Army, stationed in Germany. We deployed once to Bosnia, and once to Albania. I've flown R/C airplanes for years, I'm a licensed commercial/IFR pilot. And I live in southern Indiana, which is horribly in-land with fickle winds. I got quad-fever about 3 months ago when I learned 2 lines wasn't "all there was" when it came to acrobatic kiting. However with a new baby in the house and another on the way, there is hardly room for anything unpractical in my life these days. I eventually managed to sweet-talk the wife into letting me pick up a cheap quad-kite to see if it was something I would stick with.

Over the past month I picked up the basics as well as confirmed I do indeed love the 4 strings. But, I got what I paid for. As I watch non-stop videos in my spare time of JB doing his thing, and many of you doing yours as well, the realization is sinking in. I know what Revs can do and the kite I have just isn't going to get me there. So yes, I've got full blown Rev fever and you all know the solution. It would tickle me to death to whip out a credit card and fire off a mid-vent, race frame, B Pro, and shoot - toss a Zen on there for the summer doldrums, but that just can't happen right now.

I want to take a step sideways from my little story and thank all of you. I'm sure you all are familiar with the Internet. It's frequently an ugly place. I spend a lot of time online (part of my job) and forums just aren't this civil very often. They are rarely this helpful. The sharing here flows freely and strong. And the community strength seems to flourish under the warm glow of information. I just have to say congratulations on doing it right.