Making that decision on the 2nd kite

DonaldLL

Question

Hello All,

I have been away for a while but that's another story. I gained alot of insight last year when I bought my first rev a standard 1.5 SLE. I got alot of good advice and support from the forum... thank you for that! I have not put in as much time as I had hoped but I have progressed. Not many crashes anymore maybe here or there but even then a 'crash' now is a controlled loss of control. I don't think I have much finesse when I fly. Nevertheless to an inexperienced passerby, the kite draws attention and I can do enough to 'fake it'; but by the true Rev flyer standards, I'd say I am an experienced beginner (is there such a thing?)

Well as I had mentioned some time ago, my girlfriend likes kiting and has some quadline experience on the foils but this weekend we went out to fly both days and she took over my Rev on both days. So no complaints here... I'll just get another! We live 16 miles inland from South Beach a.k.a. Miami. I usually fly at the park near my house so I get lumpy winds. Low to no wind during the summer and last weekend steady 12 to 15mph with some 20mph bursts. My SLE was really a blast (no pun intended). The usual 'good day' would be 5 to 8mph.

So I read and read and re-read the forum and of course like someone said, with 3 kite flyers you'll get 4 opinions. I found myself caught in an Analysis-Paralysis mode. Standard - mid vent - full vented - so many choices; conflicting opinions; wraps - rods - LEs etc etc...... How do I get out of this cycle? So I asked myself, "can I make a bad decision?" I think not. Especially if I am willing and able to add continue to add to the collection. With that in mind I just pulled the trigger.